Supporting Hospital Broadcasting in the UK

Best Newcomer

Recognising the new talent that has recently emerged in Hospital Radio.

This award is open to any presenter who, within the two years prior to the closing date, became a member of a Hospital Radio station that is itself a member of the Hospital Broadcasting Association (HBA).

The award is open to anyone who joined a hospital radio station for the 1st time during the 2 years prior to the closing date. It should take the form of a 5 minute compilation. The judges are looking to hear what you have achieved on air in the short time you have been broadcasting.

An individual may only enter this award once. Multiple entries may be made from a station. The trophy will bear the name of the presenter.

Gold, Silver, and Bronze winners are announced from a shortlist of selected entries.


In order to be eligible for this award, all material evidence must have been performed between 1st November 2013 and 31st October 2014.

Best Newcomer 2014


Mark Wright
Radio Glamorgan

Flash Playerrequired

The judges said:
"A stand-out entry. All of us immediately warmed to Mark; his approach on air is just right you'd want to listen and engage with him from the moment he starts speaking. A real connection with the listener."


Molly Townson
Radio Brockley

Flash Playerrequired

The judges said:
"Molly has real potential. She comes alive in front of the microphone and can paint real pictures for the listeners. We really REALLY enjoyed it."


Dom Cornfield
Ridgeway Radio
(Award collected by Dom's mother, Jo.)

Flash Playerrequired

The judges said:
"This was a very polished performance and a great listen from someone just starting out in hospital radio. Engaging and entertaining."

Award Categories

Awards Blog

Entries Close This Weekend!
Iain Lee | 13th Nov 14
Awards Entries Open!
Nigel Dallard | 19th Sep 14
Winners photos available
Iain Lee | 3rd Apr 14

Key Dates

  • 2015 Awards
  • 01/09/2014: Awards Officially Open
  • 16/11/2014: Online Entry Deadline
  • 01/01/2015: Shortlists Announced
  • 28/03/2015: Award Ceremony
  • 29/03/2015: Winners Revealed Online
  • 2016 Awards
  • 01/09/2015: Awards Officially Open